26th Annual  Sage Awards

The Council on Aging believes that aging should be celebrated and embraced, and that older adults have a lifetime of wisdom and experience to offer communities. The Sage Awards is one way that we are changing the conversation about what it means to be part of the emerging – and vital – senior generation.  The Sage Awards presented each year since 1991, are given to mature adults who have made outstanding contributions to Middle Tennessee through a lifelong commitment of working to improve the quality of life in their communities.

2017 Honorees:

Nancy Conway

Nancy Conway has dedicated her life to the betterment of Williamson County through her 30-year career as the President/CEO Williamson County Chamber of Commerce and her volunteer leadership of several non-profits including Columbia State Community College, Natchez Trace Parkway Association, Franklin Tomorrow, Franklin Housing Commission, Franklin’s Charger, Discover Franklin, Williamson Medical Center Foundation, and Leadership Middle TN. She currently serves as Senior VP of Community Relations for Williamson, Inc. She is an active member of Trinity United Methodist Church and is on the Advisory Board of NHC Cool Springs.

Em Ghianni

Em Ghianni is an American hero. He is a World War II veteran and served our country as a First Lieutenant in the U.S. Army. He has also served as commander of the American Legion Post 5 for several terms.  He remains active in many veterans’ causes providing healthcare, housing and job assistance. He is on the board of Operation Stand Down, the Salvation Army, and the Nashville Rescue Mission. He is also longtime long-time member of Nashville Kiwanis. He is an active member of the Forest Hills Planning Commission and is an elder at Brenthaven Cumberland Presbyterian Church.

Susan Huggins

Susan Huggins is pillar of Nashville’s non-profit community. She is currently the President and CEO of CABLE.  Susan has served in leadership roles with the Rotary Club of Nashville, YWCA Board of Directors and Leadership Nashville. She has served on the boards of the Nashville Sports Council, the Women’s Fund of the Community Foundation of Middle Tennessee, St. Mary’s Sewanee, CABLE, Girl Scouts of Middle Tennessee, FiftyForward, St. David’s Episcopal Church, the Episcopal Diocese of Tennessee, and St. Luke’s Community House.

Gwendolyn Vincent

Gwendolyn Vincent was an elementary school teacher with Metro Nashville Public Schools for thirty-five years and continues to be champion for education. She has served on the board of the Cumberland Valley Girl Scouts and Reading is Fundamental. As a lobbyist for AARP, she worked to ensure funding for programs for older adults. She is a member of the Metro Swinging Seniors dance group and has served in leadership roles with Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., the Music City Links, the TSU Alumni Association, Metro Nashville Education Association, and the Faith Unlimited Civic Club. She is a member of First Baptist Church Capitol Hill.

 This year we are also recognizing one organization that has made a significant and positive impact on the lives of older adults in Middle Tennessee.

2017 Honoree  

Individual Tickets are $75*

Tables for 10 may be hosted for $700*

Approximately 350 friends of the honorees and Council on Aging enthusiasts attend the luncheon. We offer sponsorship opportunities with a range of visibility and hospitality benefits to help you reach your marketing goals.   Sponsorships are customizable based on your need.


Past Honorees

2016: Berdelle Campbell, Brenda Gilmore,  Cleatrice McTorry, James Vandiver

2015: Sophia L. K. Beamon, Toni W. Heller, Ida K. Martin, Emmie Jackson McDonald

2014: May Dean Eberling, Sharon W. Hurt, Jim & Hilda McGregor

2013: George H. Cate, Jr., Senator Douglas Henry, Larry Keeton, Lois Orr Winston

2012: Marcy & Seawell Brandau, Sandra D. H. Hunt, Evelyn R. Richmond

2011: Jimmie White Hill, William Puryear, Richard E. Ragsdale

2010: Don Beisswenger, Dr. Susie McClure, Lottie Strupp

2009: Geraldine H. Butts, Wm. E. (Willie) McDonald, Dr. Anderson & Mrs. Susan Spickard

2008: Richard H. Fulton, C. Renee Jenkins, Irma B. Kaplan

2007: Louise B. Katzman*, Phil Ponder, Gwendolyn J. Sharp

2006: H.P. “Hop” Hopkins*, Ola G. Hudson, Grace Cavert Stumb*

2005: Calvin L.* & Evelyn E*. Calhoun, Harriet Foley, Elise Steiner*

2004: Dr. Evelyn P. Fancher, Martin Kresge*, Nancy Ransom, Sally Wolfe

2003: Jean & Allen* Eskind, Edwina L. Hefner, Marjorie R. Koehler

2002: Bob Eisenstein, Hazel Pointer Fields, Penny & Gene TeSelle

2001: Thelma L. Baxter*, Charlie Cardwell, Lois K.* & Gilbert Fox

2000: Bill Barnes, Eleanor Chippey Grier, Clare* & Samuel* Loventhal

1999: Charlie* & Gracie Allen, Clara C. Elam, Bernard Werthan, Jr.

1998: Nathaniel Crippens*, Adele Mills Schweid*, Bill Sherman

1997: Robert Everett, Jr.*, Daniel Patrick McGeachy, III, Anne Friedrich Roos

1996: F. Tremaine Billings, Jr.*, Mansfield Douglas III*, Leah Rose Werthan*

1995: Grace Gardner*, Barbara Mann, Lester Robb*

1994: Mary Bradley*, Ernest Freudenthal*, Jamye Williams

1993: Randall Falk*, Lettie Galloway*, Jean Stumpf*

1992: Nancy Howell*, Laura McCray*, Bill Moynihan* *deceased